My worst nightmare: A house

Some people work like crazy with fierce blood, sweat and tears to save up enough money to buy a house.  What is some peoples’ dream, is Teacake’s nightmare.  If I did bad stuff and the earth police told me I had to buy a house and live there forever, I would cry a river.  I would be like one of The Prisoner’s buddies, desperately holding hands with him as we tried to escape from the island and THAT white ball.

The Prisoner Rover White Ball

Don’t get me wrong… I adore slow travel.  I love to get as deep into a culture as possible to fully live, breathe, smell, taste and see it.  Give or take a year though and my feet are piping hot and gaining superhuman speed.  I need to get out of there. Once I’ve learnt everything I can and achieved everything I want to, it’s time to go.  If I was to buy a house, I’d feel extremely tied down and every morning would look like this:

Groundhog Day Repetition

For me, I need to keep shaking things up and keep myself on my toes.  A new place = a new challenge.  I don’t like to get too comfortable and be at that point where I ride to work on autopilot, not remembering how I got there or saw along the way.

Driving on autopilot

Since I’ve left home, I have lived in over 30 places.  I just can’t sit still and I love it. Every time I move, I find my new favourite restaurant, an unexplored park, a friendly drinking hole, locals who I’m gonna buy exotic fruits and plain old onions from.  It’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland playing over and over again but there’s always a new chapter.  Remember those Choose your own Adventure books? That’s my life and I thank the cosmos everyday for giving me such kick ass freedom to do that.

Labyrinth Directions

Some people may argue that I don’t know how to hold down a relationship, quit life too easily or once I meet the right one I won’t want to move.  I beg to differ.  If I meet Mr. Right, he’s not going to want a house or any mini Teacakes either and vroom vroom off into the sunset with me *fingers crossed and more on Teacake’s love life here*.

Moonrise Kingdom True Love

I love every place I go to but with the world being so fantastic and me unfortunately not having eternal life, there’s only so much a slow traveller can get round to in one lifetime. You may be in paradise but there’s another paradise around the corner too! You gotta go! 

If it came to the crunch, there’s only one house I would ever consider and that’s a tiny house.  One I can move wherever I want to go!  I found out about these about 5 years ago and they’ve steadily been bursting through into the public eye.  For hippies like Teacake, I think they’re the perfect compromise.  If you’re interested in learning more about them, have a lookie here.

Do you feel the same as Teacake or disagree wholeheartedly?  Express yourself below!

©Teacaketravels: Please do not copy and paste Teacake’s words into your own posts. If you want to take an excerpt of writing, please link it back.

2 thoughts on “My worst nightmare: A house

  1. kalison0515 says:

    Youth is part of your freedom — and also being European. In the U.S., you’re on your own with your retirement plan and we are insecure about financial security. Homeownership is part of the American Dream, like a career path…except, it really shouldn’t be. That’s like someone else’s plan. I know I’ve felt tied to an area because of my home. At this point, it’s now part of my investment plan. I love how you are living boldly and all the options you have. But, who knows if your lifestyle will be lifelong?

    Like

    • aliceteacake says:

      I hear you. There is definitely a risk in what I’m doing. Many people tell me I should put money down for a house and rent it whilst travelling. That is one option but I’m still at the point where I’m not prepared to do that. I think a Tiny House is the way for me to go.

      Like

Leave a Reply

